News & Announcements Home
The original item was published from 7/2/2021 2:13:46 PM to 12/3/2021 12:00:01 AM.

News & Announcements

County News

Posted on: July 2, 2021

[ARCHIVED] 2021 Signatures of Loudoun Awards Recognize Excellence in Design

Image of award winner and link to Signatures of Loudoun webpage

The Loudoun County Design Cabinet, a volunteer group of architects, engineers, planners, and designers dedicated to supporting quality design in Loudoun County, presented the 2021 “Signatures of Loudoun” design awards in a ceremony on June 29. 

The Signatures program, now in its 17th year, recognizes businesses and community organizations that choose superior design standards in building, renovating or expanding a project. Each year, the community is invited to submit nominations, which are voted on by the cabinet. 

This year’s awardees are:

  • Pace Setters Award:
    • Ashburn Station, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office (F. Thomas Lee, AIA, Samaha Associates, P.C.; and Kiran Parikh, design manager, Loudoun County Department of Transportation and Capital Infrastructure)
    • Loudoun School for Advanced Studies (Reader & Swartz Architects, P.C; Deep Sran, Ph.D., Loudoun School for the Gifted; Painter-Lewis, PLC; Hammerhead Construction; Simpson Gumpertz & Heger; and Comfort Design)
  • Interiors Award:
    • Echelon Wine Bar, Leesburg (Dieter R. Meyer, AIA, W.A. Brown & Associates, PC, principal architect; Aimee and Todd Henkle, Echelon Wine Bar; Cloverdale, LLC, owner; Peter Mullally, Mullally Construction; Kasey O’Bruba, architectural project manager)
  • Makeovers Award:
    • King and Loudoun, Leesburg (Dieter R. Meyer, AIA, W.A. Brown & Associates, PC, principal architect; Lynne Guy, architectural project manager; Bill Cammack, Cloverdale LLC, owner; Peter Mullally, Mullally Construction; and David Logan, Vintage Building)
    • Walker Farm Tenant House (Robert and Marsha Thompson, owners; and John Burroughs, Lauten Construction)
  • Details Award:
    • Leesburg LOVEwork Sculpture (Leesburg Commission on Public Art; Friends of Leesburg Public Arts; and Michael Clay, artist)
    • Heronview (Windy Hill Foundation, Bob Dale, director; Hollis Fitch, Flat Iron Partners; Anderea Gonzalez; Flat Iron Partners, Interior Design; BSB Design (formerly Polleo Group), architect)
  • Familiar Details Award:
    • Stanley Caulkins Statue, Leesburg (Leesburg Commission on Public Art, Friends of Leesburg Public Arts; Jeffery Hall, artist; and Dianne Canney)
  • Vision in Design Award:
    • Larry Rosenstrauch (Former director, Loudoun County Department of Economic Development.)

More information, including photos of the award winners, may be found at

# # #

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County News

Link to information about Loudoun County's tax relief programs

Loudoun Commissioner of the Revenue to Hold Tax Relief Seminars

Posted on: February 9, 2024 | Last Modified on: February 26, 2019