News & Announcements Home
The original item was published from 12/31/2020 11:39:28 AM to 7/1/2021 12:00:02 AM.

News & Announcements

County News

Posted on: December 31, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Loudoun Commissioner of the Revenue Mails Notices to Vehicle Owners

Image of Loudoun County Wordmark

Loudoun Commissioner of the Revenue Robert S. Wertz Jr. recently mailed notification of 2021 personal property filing requirements to all vehicle owners currently on the county’s tax rolls. Personal property includes automobiles, trucks, motorcycles, campers, trailers, boats, motorhomes, aircraft and mobile homes. During the week of January 4, 2021, residents will begin receiving notices in the mail with an account number and instructions that they will use to review and update their personal property tax records for the 2021 tax year. The online process allows residents to review and update information on the more than 372,000 vehicles now located in the county. Beginning January 1, 2021, residents can access their personal property information online at utilizing their social security or tax identification number, mailing address ZIP code and unique account number, which is displayed on the notice.

Residents should report corrections, an address change, the sale or disposal of a vehicle or unusually high mileage as well as unrepaired body damage or serious mechanical defect because these factors may affect the property’s valuation or the number of months a vehicle is taxed in the county. The Commissioner of the Revenue requests that all changes be submitted by February 1, 2021, to assist in establishing accurate assessments for the 2021 tax year.  

To avoid late filing penalties, newly acquired vehicles or those recently entering Loudoun County must be reported to the Commissioner of the Revenue within 60 days of purchase or move to Loudoun County or one of Loudoun County’s incorporated towns. Although the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles has limited its services during the COVID-19 pandemic, owners of vehicles in the county are subject to taxes beginning on the date the vehicle came to Loudoun, even if the vehicle displays out-of-state license plates.  

Owners of vehicles displaying out-of-state license plates who are not otherwise exempt from obtaining Virginia license plates will be charged an additional annual license fee of $100. A $250 penalty may also be imposed on owners of vehicles that are not registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles within 60 days of the owner’s having established residency in Virginia.

Military service members residing in Loudoun County who have separated from military service and were receiving a tax exemption due to claiming a domicile outside Virginia should contact the Commissioner of the Revenue’s office to report their change in status so their exemption can be removed.

In order to protect the safety of taxpayers and staff and slow the spread of COVID-19, taxpayers are encouraged to connect with the Commissioner of the Revenue’s office virtually. Most transactions with the office can be completed online. For more information or filing assistance, visit or contact the Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue by email or call 703-777-0260. Regular office hours are weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. In-person visitors are encouraged to contact the office in advance, as office hours may be adjusted due to the pandemic.

# # #

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County News

Link to information about tax relief programs

County Accepting Property Tax Exemption Applications from Charitable Nonprofits

Posted on: March 1, 2024 | Last Modified on: February 26, 2019
Link to information about Loudoun County's tax relief programs

Loudoun Commissioner of the Revenue to Hold Tax Relief Seminars

Posted on: February 9, 2024 | Last Modified on: February 26, 2019